2020 Convention

Join us virtually for a sampling of the traditional, face-to-face convention experience. Each day will feature speakers, workshops, and meetings plus time for sharing and personal connection. As a gift from the ISO to the fellowship, this event is absolutely free!

27th Annual COSA Convention

May 23-24, 2020 via Zoom

Each day: 12:45 pm – 5:45 pm EDT/GMT-4

Join us virtually for a sampling of the traditional, face-to-face convention experience. Each day will feature speakers, workshops, and meetings plus time for sharing and personal connection.

As a gift from the ISO to the fellowship, this event is absolutely free!

Registration open through May 15th!

Instructions for Zoom Login:

  • Check your registration email for Zoom Room links and passwords; for safety reasons they will not be posted online.
  • You can access Zoom online at https://www.zoom.us/join. You are not required to have a Zoom account. It will be easiest to participate in the convention from your laptop; however, you can download the Zoom app for use on your phone.
  • Please do not share or forward your registration links. If you know someone who would like to attend, please encourage them to email convention@cosa-recovery.org
    to register. This will help to ensure everyone’s safety and anonymity.
Training Sessions to Build Confidence with Zoom Video, May 20th & 22nd

Training sessions to build your confidence with Zoom video conferencing will be available before the virtual convention. Choose from:

Wednesday, May 20, from 4:00pm- 5:00pm EDT/GMT-4
Friday, May 22, from 7:00pm-8:00pm EDT/GMT-4.

Details will be forwarded upon registration.

Saturday, May 23rd, 1:00 - 5:45pm EDT/GMT-4

(Note: all times are EDT)

Saturday, 1:00-1:15 pm Welcome: Chris C., ISO of COSA Chair 

      After technical instructions, Chris will welcome us and kick off the weekend.

Saturday, 1:15-2:15 pm Speaker: Tamiko E. (Introduced by Amy M.J.) 

      Tamiko will share how her perception of love has changed as she has moved through recovery, and the tools that have helped her along the way.

Saturday, 2:30-3:30 pm Practicing Steps One through Three in our Daily Lives: Janet L. 

      In this workshop, we will look at the language of Steps One through Three and discuss how they apply to more than just compulsive sexual behavior in our lives.

Saturday, 2:30-3:30 pm Twelve Step Topic Meeting: Antara B. 

      This meeting will focus on the topic of One Day at a Time. Participants are encouraged to share on how this topic applies to their lives and recovery.

Saturday, 4:00-5:00 pm I’m Triggered! What Now? : Eveline S., Brian T., Eleanor S. 

      The panel will discuss the tools recovering COSAs can use to deal with their triggers.

Saturday, 4:00-5:00 pm The Gift of Service: Amy M.J., Chris C., Sarah S. 

    Explore the options available for COSA service at many different levels as our panelists share the positive effects service has had on their lives.

 

Sunday, May 24th, 1:00 - 5:45pm EDT/GMT-4

(Note: all times are EDT)

Sunday, 1:15-2:15 pm Tradition Five: Our Primary Purpose: Sarah S. 

      Tradition Five reads, “Each group has but one primary purpose — to carry its message to those who still suffer. We do this by practicing the Twelve Steps ourselves.” How do we best follow this primary purpose in our groups, our personal lives, and our fellowship as a whole? How do we support those who are still suffering, including ourselves? We will discuss how doing our Step work and using this Tradition in our lives can help us align with this primary purpose.

Sunday, 1:15-2:15 pm Eleventh Step Discussion & Meditation: Tracy S. and Sara L. 

      Even if you’re not on Step Eleven, join us for meditation. We’ll share ideas and tips, what worked and what didn’t, and practice meditating. We welcome everyone, including those who can’t sit still, those who hate meditation, and those who want a simple way to get started.

Sunday, 2:30-3:30 pm Gratitude: What You Can Change About the Things You Can’t: Amy S. 

      When we are faced with things in our lives that we cannot control, the tool of gratitude can help us change our perspective, and therefore, our experience.

Sunday, 2:30-3:30 pm Sponsor-Sponsee-Co-Sponsor Connection: Mary H., Julie P. 

      Listen to shares from sponsors on being a sponsor and from sponsees on having a sponsor. Learn about the available resources you didn’t know existed that can help you find a sponsor.

Sunday, 4:00-5:00 pm Speaker: Kirsten H. (Introduced by Sarah S.) 

      Without a doubt, working the Steps has the most profound effect on my recovery. It’s been a circuitous route for me to put the focus on myself. Today, I work the Steps to make amends to myself and to cultivate self-compassion. This is proving to be most beneficial for the world around me.

Sunday, 5:00-5:15 pm Send-Off: Sandy S., ISO of COSA Board Member at Large 

    We’ll join together to close the weekend.

 

Optional Add-On Twelve-Step Meetings

Do you want to add more recovery to your convention weekend? The following COSA meetings take place before and after the official convention events. All COSAs are welcome at these meetings.

Saturday LA COSA Meeting:

Time: 11:45 am ET, 10:45 am CT, 9:45 am MT, 8:45 am PT, 15:45 GMT, 2:45 am Sydney, Australia (next day/Sunday)
Go to: https://www.zoom.us/join – Enter Meeting ID: 457 778 6313
Check your registration email for the meeting password.
Contact Information: losangelescosa@gmail.com

Saturday Cupertino HIR:

Note: This Healthy Intimate Relationships meeting is open to both COSAs and sex addicts, with or without partners.
Time: 10:30 pm ET, 9:30pm CT, 8:30 pm MT, 7:30 pm PT, 02:30 GMT (next day/Sunday), 1:30 pm Sydney, Australia (next day/Sunday)
Go to: https://www.zoom.us/join – Enter Meeting ID: 566-056-0930
Check your registration email for the meeting password.
Contact Information: southbaycosahir@gmail.com

If you have additional questions, please email the Convention committee at convention@cosa-recovery.org

Convention Etiquette:

  • Please arrive slightly early and stay for the entire session (barring emergencies).
  • Keep your video on at all times. If you need to leave the room, notify the room hosts via the chat function.
  • Keep yourself muted except when you are sharing (during specified share times).
  • In the Speaker session (webinar mode), if you want to speak when the room is open for sharing, please virtually raise your hand by clicking on the “raise hand” icon, and a room host will unmute you. To share during workshops (regular Zoom mode), you can unmute yourself. Please do so only when the presenters ask for shares or feedback.
  • We introduce ourselves by first name only.
  • On your Zoom account, we request that you display only your first name and last initial, as this will be visible to others in attendance.
  • When sharing, please avoid cross-talk; this means we do not comment on another person’s share, give advice, or interrupt. Instead, we keep the focus on ourselves, speaking in “I” terms.
  • All attendees are encouraged to attend one of the following Zoom Training Sessions prior to the event. Check your email for links to the training sessions.
    • Wednesday, May 20, 4:00-5:00 pm ET/GMT-4
    • Friday, May 22, 7:00-8:00 pm ET/GMT-4.
    • Additionally, you may wish to attend regularly-scheduled COSA Zoom meetings, which will also help familiarize you with the platform. A list of COSA Zoom meetings is available at https://cosa-recovery.org/meetings/online-meetings/